Fiction · Writing Prompts

Roosting

Title: Roosting
Source: Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers – Week of July 11, 2017
Words count: 175 words

I’m very slowly easing back into my normal blogging routine, after my month(s)-long break! It’s similar to what I usually write, but I’ve been doing a few sketches of a character I dreamed up – a bartender, dabbling in the occult. I’m hoping with enough, I’ll eventually flesh her out to be solid enough for a short novella. The last time I wanted to write her was when I was drafting  Gallery Visit, but unfortunately, I wasn’t happy with how the first one turned out. This one seemed to be a better fit, so why not?


“Observe. See the city below us?”

“I see pigeons…?”

“Exactly my point. It’s quiet here. Peaceful.”

“Mmhm.”

“It’s easy to forget what peace is like. This rooftop isn’t much, but if you need a place -”

A scream pierced the air. He turned around, and caught sight of the tell-tale swarm of ravens descend onto the streets, a black swirl against the setting sun. When he returned to face her, he saw the first smile from the street-girl he’d taken under his wing.

“Peace, huh?”

He even didn’t dignify that with a response.

“Sorry. Well. If we want ‘peace’ -” She made air quotes “ – We better get going. Can’t get much of that if this district has revenants.”

Then she was gone, dropping down to the streets. He watched as her arms began to glow, imbued with arcane magic as she made her way towards the commotion. He shook his head, smiling tiredly.

“No wonder you liked her, old friend,” he murmured. “No wonder.”

And with that, he hopped down, and followed his unruly protege.

photo-20170710154707376
Image credit to Grant-Sud
9 thoughts on “Roosting

  1. Well, you’ve got me hooked on this female bartender who dabbles in the occult. Already, I can tell she’ll be a tough, sarcastic character and I love that! 😀

    1. Thank you Jade! 😀 I’m more hoping to get her bartending side out next – I did buy all those cocktail recipe books for a reason *coughs*. Even if sarcasm seems to be my default mode of writing characters.

    1. Thanks Gina! I’d daresay she’s a little too proud, too cocky – but that’s what character development is here for. To (somewhat) smooth out those flaws… or not.

Leave a Reply

