Personal

Tea Breaks: Holiday Break!

Tea Breaks is an ongoing experiment of sorts, in an attempt to fit in a bit of the going-ons in my life. It’s gone a bit quiet while I try to figure out what I want to do with this, but here it is, after an extended absence – for a while!


 

Once again, for those who occasionally check out my blog, you’ll notice I’ve gone one entire week without posts – neither Tea Breaks, nor any of my usual flash fiction. The reasons are two-fold: one, finals for this year! Which I finished on Saturday. Corporate transactions, property transactions and probate is never fun.

But for the past month, I’ve been studying for it – while my post-grad degree is only on a pass-fail basis, the chances of failing are far higher for my degree. I’m not keen on repeating another year.

Unfortunately, it means all my other hobbies have taken a hiatus – my blogging, my proof-reading (more on that another day!), my novel(s)… but now, with luck, it’ll be back to normal. My grades won’t be out till end of this June, but for the rest of May and June, I think I’d like to take some time off to enjoy myself.

Which brings me to my next point! And a much more cheerful note compared to my exams. I’m going to be taking a trip off with my family once again – this time to the wonderful lands of NZ and Oz. It’ll be good to go back, after five years of not having gone. I’m looking forward to my week of quiet and relaxation, away from the city, away from my studies.

I’ve loaded up my Kindle with as many books as I can manage, have my pen and paper ready, and packed my bags. I even have a new rolling carry-on to take with me on my trip, which means no more lugging everything I own in a backpack!

This does mean that the blog will be going quiet for about two-ish weeks. And during this time, I’d like to figure out what I want to do with this – I know I’d like to keep publishing flash fiction, to keep interacting with the amazing community of bloggers I’ve just started to get to know. I’d like to bring back Tea Breaks as a regular thing, but I’d probably decrease the frequency from once a week to maybe once a month. But what else to do in the interim? I’m still trying to work it out, and I don’t have an answer. Yet.

But what I do know is once I come back from my trip, I’ll have so many photos to share, and so many stories to tell. So I’d like to apologise in advance for my blathering on my travels, and the places I’ll be going to. But hopefully, it won’t be too boring… and you’d be able to laugh at my antics.

So. See you all in two weeks! And in the mean time, take care.

4 thoughts on “Tea Breaks: Holiday Break!

  1. enjoy your time away and the reading too! Auckland was my playground for a time – and I loved all the volcanoes. you can check out my posts for some of the places I enjoyed there. If you are in Auckland DO NOT MISS OUT on the Candyman and the book store next door and Circus Circus Cafe down the street on Mount Eden road – amazeballs! see you back soon Chris and with lots of stories too. You can always email me too if you need anything – gallyot_gina@yahoo.com – if I could be of help. I have been to many cities in Australia but they never caught my heart like NZ did. Happy for you so happy!!

    1. Ahh, thank you! Unfortunately I missed out on the Circus Circus cafe, but I did make it to Rotorua and Hobbiton! I can see why you loved NZ – I fell in love with it too, and I was so sorry to leave. I also found so many gorgeous books – a store that sold antique print books! They even had Rime of the Ancient Mariner… but unfortunately, too expensive D:

    1. Butt-kicking is debatable (I think the exams had the advantage there), but I’m more well-rested, and it was an amazing trip. Thank you so much Jade 😀

Leave a Reply

