Fiction · Writing Prompts

100 Word Prompt – Hunger

Title: Curiosity Stifled
Prompt: Hunger
Source: 100 Word Challenge – Thin Spiral Notebook

Did I ever mention I was a teacher? I was, for a very brief stint – English, of course, and on a volunteer basis! I do have a lot of grievances about the education system though. Originally, I thought it was an issue isolated to Hong Kong, but the more I read, the more I realise that along the way, something in the students have been smothered. But that’s a topic for another day. Here’s one that is semi-inspired by my own experiences as a teacher.

I’ll always miss my rambunctious students though, for all my whining about them. And the fact they were the only ones to ask for seconds for my cookies.


She taught children when she first started. The questions were relentless: why Romeo didn’t just ask Juliet’s parents, why volcanoes erupted, why nouns weren’t the same as adjectives.

She’d hoped to teach the older forms. When she did, she found silence, confused looks, and an unwillingness to sound stupid before their peers.

She remembered the younger students, the questions, her headaches, but they were alive. Here, they were deathly still, afraid to speak up, afraid to ask, afraid of being scolded.

No, she vowed. They’d learn grades weren’t everything. They’d learn to be curious. And they’d yearn for knowledge again.

 

 

6 thoughts on “100 Word Prompt – Hunger

  1. I’ve seen this myself in my own experiences; I’m not a teacher but I have taught in the past every age from Pre-K to junior high, and I’ve noticed that the older the kids get, the less enthusiastic they are for school, for learning, for curiosity. It’s frustrating and it’s heartbreaking.

    1. Agreed about it being both frustrating and heartbreaking – I’ve never been able to figure out why. Or how. How much of it is the teacher? Or the system? Or just the students? I will admit though – I find bringing in cookies and candies tend to make an excellent motivation. Not too often, of course xD

      1. Nah, I think I taught them barely anything. But they are! It also spoils them rotten >_> I think by the end of it it was harder to keep discipline, but the main thing is they had fun learning.

Leave a Reply

