Fiction · Writing Prompts

Thoroughfare

Title: Thoroughfare
Source: Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers – Week of January 31, 2017
Word count: 175 words

Very, very loosely inspired by the picture. It’s a bit of an experiment for me writing-wise, and mixes a few memories and what was probably a very overactive imagination at the time. Or at least, I hope that was an overactive imagination!


photo-20170130154651135
Image credit to Jessica Haines
We had an earth mound at the side of our school’s carpark. It was overgrown, and had a slab in its side, as though someone had found a jagged piece of rock and half-buried. On its face, an inscription had faded away.

On a wet, drizzly day, I wandered through campus, heading to class. Distantly, I heard laughter. I paused, and saw no one. The laughter came again. Of its own accord, my feet began to move, and all I could hear was a soft, tinkling singing, and a strange compulsion to play with –

“What are you doing?

I jumped. I spun to see my homeroom teacher staring at me. Why was I in the carpark?

“I – I don’t know. I heard – felt – ”

Words died in my throat. My teacher frowned, and ushered me away.

The next day, there were rumours of a priest in the car park, but none of the teachers would confirm or talk about it. And when I finally dared to go back, both mound and slab were gone.

3 thoughts on “Thoroughfare

    1. I’m not sure about it, either. It was one of the great primary school mysteries no one ever resolved! So… I think the best is to leave it open, for interpretation. Thank you for the lovely comment, as well.

Leave a Reply

