Personal

End of a Journey

In my last post a few months ago, I announced I would be going on a hiatus due to my examinations. They were particularly important to me, as they were my last exams in my undergraduate career and it was my last-ditch attempt to save the last remnants of my GPA. And now they’re over. They’ve been over for nearly a month now, and I took the time off to recuperate and to travel. So many stories. So many people. But that’s another post for another day.

I wish I could say I was relieved, that it was a burden off my shoulders. The sad reality is, they’re not. I’m waiting for their release a few days later, where the dust will finally settle on my honours classification, and with that, whether or not I’ll be able to make it through to the next stage. Whether it is a masters or the coveted admission to the licence that I’ve thrown four years of my life at, I can’t say. Or maybe there’s nothing at all, and it’ll be the end of my tertiary education.

Four years ago, I started this writing blog as a ways to cope with my degree, so I could write. I don’t plan on ending it now, and I hope now that I’m out of law maybe my writing will be a little less stiff, a little less verbose.

I don’t know what the future holds, and this temporary aimlessness is terrifying. For the past four years, I always had a textbook to read, emails to write, but now, during this interim, I have nothing. Half of me wishes the grades would come today, if only to spare me of my suffering, but the other half… it wants to savour this aimlessness, the last few days of being free to do absolutely nothing.

There is one thing I know. For all of you who have stuck by this blog, who’ve left a like, or who’ve followed this rambling stranger on the Internet, thank you. This may be a quiet blog, and one that doesn’t update regularly, but I hope you’ve gleaned some enjoyment.

I’m not retiring this blog. Not any time soon. I don’t know how long I’ll keep this, but it’s become a bit of a habit to pop onto here, to do a challenge or so. I’ll go quiet maybe for a day or two, and then I’ll see what to do with it. I do have a few ideas down the line, after all.

Leave a Reply

