Fiction · Writing Prompts

100 Word Prompt – List

Title:  Going Shopping
Prompt: List
Source: 100 Word Challenge – Thin Spiral Notebook

So I took one of my characters (still sketching out her details) and plopped her into my 100 word challenge. Coupled with my somewhat melancholy mood this week – despite it being Easter! – this 100 word was born. Next week, hopefully I’ll have something a bit more cheerful to present here!


She’s memorised the list: the baker, the wine store, the florist. The old man smiles as she enters. “I’ve got the usual flowers for you – purple. Say hello to your ma for me, alright?”

It brings a smile to her face. “Thank you, Mr. Collins.”

There’s a lump in her throat when she arrives. It’s quiet today, and she wonders how odd she looks, twenty-four and in a place like this. She sits down in near the grave, sets out the opera cake (her favourite), the wine, flowers, and lights a candle.

“Happy birthday mom,” she murmurs. “Happy birthday.”

4 thoughts on “100 Word Prompt – List

    1. Ahck, sorry for the late reply – I finally got out of my assignments! I’m sorry to hear about your MIL =\ But thank you: I was hoping it’d be short enough, but just enough to convey the emotions she felt.

  1. Definitely a gloomy story, I didn’t see that twist there in the middle. Sadness is a great way to add more meaning to a character and I’m intrigued to whether you are continuing her story 🙂

    1. It’s always interesting to see how tragedies impact characters – I mean, life can’t be all about the ups, right? She’s still a proof of concept, but we’ll see where this one goes. Thank you for dropping by and for your comments!

Leave a Reply

