Personal

A Digital Ball of Twine

I’ve been quiet, once again, because finals season has hit once more and… things have happened, I suppose. Something along the lines of being caught between job-hunting, looking for a summer internship, trying to keep my grades afloat and juggling the rest of my free time. Moreso as I am currently taking a course in Asian cinema. But I have a few things to say, a few more updates to give, and then hopefully later this week I’ll go back to my usual ramble-logs.I have, however, taken up two things again: firstly, HTML because I cannot believe I have forgotten practically everything I’ve learnt about it; and secondly, programming. Which is far long overdue, but I think I’d like to pick up that little area again and play around with it. I’ve forgotten how it’s like to learn a new language, and the exploratory forays are helping to keep my mind a little more agile, a little more fresh. It’s not like my mind hasn’t already stagnated, but I think I’d like to keep the pretence that I am still young enough to learn a few new tricks.

Look at me, barely into adulthood and already making grand, sweeping statements bemoaning my age.

I’ve also finally gotten around to looking at Twine, the tool that lets you create choose-your-own-adventure stories. I hesitate to call it a tool that allows you to make games, simply because of the fact that if your Twine story only has “Next”, or only one sentence whose sole purpose is to advance in the game – well, I don’t see it as a game. Games denote some degree of interactivity or a choice you actively make, like visual novels, which while engaging in a lot of reading, give you a freedom of choice and several endings. CYOA in Twine allows you to build a world, read a story, but not all Twine creations are games.

My personal opinion, of course, and you are free to disagree, but if you don’t have choice or any interaction that help to shape the route your character is going, then really, your creation is just an interactive story with one set outcome.

I digress. Twine is very easy to use, very convenient, albeit a bit basic compared to a few other engines I’ve been experimenting with, but there’s something refreshing in having to focus on crafting stories and creating stories to read. Gameplay mechanics come much later on. We shall see.

Leave a Reply

