Personal

Little Surprises

Hong Kong’s Occupy Central isn’t letting up, and to be honest, I don’t see it letting up anytime soon. Police are dismantling some of the barricades, but there doesn’t seem to be any outrage over it. The general sentiment right now? The protestors have outstayed their welcome, and their demands are unrealistic.

It pains me to see this movement fall apart so clearly, as they lose more and more support. In a way, this could be seen coming – once you affect people’s livelihoods, they will turn on you. The question is if they are willing to negotiate, or if they’re willing to settle down for the long haul.

But I didn’t start this post intending to have it run on about a dead horse that’s been beaten over and over again. No, I’m here to talk – write – about a little surprise I got this morning. Yes, it’s a semi-happy story.I turned the legal age for drinking in America (21) a few days ago. My last year was… crazy, at best. I had relationships thrown into my face, took on new responsibilities, tried to handle and get a grip on my ever-increasing workload for my legal studies, all while juggling my time table and trying to live as much of a life as I possibly can.

This year, I decided it’d be a great idea to take on a paying job, in addition to my normal teaching duties for the volunteer work. I’ve also joined up with a new student organization that plays to my interests in some legal fields, so there’s that to look forward to. Creative writing class is kicking my ass because of the portfolio and the fact that apparently I don’t do gothic so well. But I am grateful for my teacher, Dr. Page Richards – she sees patterns and the style I write better than I do, and time and time again she points me towards my stronger points and away from my weaknesses, which is doing wonders for my writing technique. Not that I’m using it very much here, because right now all I’m doing is rambling as usual.

What I didn’t expect, however, was to find out this morning that our Chief of Volunteers for the teaching work I do had resigned, and I was apparently to be her successor. Well then. Looks like either someone has it out for me, or has decided that it’d be a great learning opportunity so I can get off my lazy butt and actually use my time productively. That does mean I won’t have much time for gaming anymore, because between this and my homework and my Chinese classes (woe!), it’s going to eat up a good section of my time.

I’m scared, in a way, because I’ve never actually been good at time management. I’ve been procrastinating time and time again, if this little blog post here hasn’t made it clear, but at the same time I’m exhilarated. People have always told me that university life is best lived to the fullest in your first year, and then the other years you focus on jobs. For me, the reverse was true: my first year was nothing but generally being a hermit, and it was only desperation to fill up my CV (at first) that I took on a few internships. Now? I’m simply in these things and enjoying it – in a strange masochistic way to overload my schedule with work. But I feel alive, moreso than before, and it feels I’m going somewhere.

I hope I can cope. I hope I can manage. And I hope I won’t end up a strange crushed mess at the end of the year. Hello being twenty-one years old, what a start you have for me.

Leave a Reply

